Bring out the Gimp

One of the first things I had to do in my internship was to start creating some graphics. Posters, flyers, promotional material, headers, banners and any sort of visual images that the organisation wants.

I was dreading this becuase I do not think I am very visual. I prefer to work with text. I have used layout software (InDesign) in the past and the experience has not been a good one, because I was trying to learn off an old manual.

So, I was wary when I was told that I was going to be learning some graphic design as part of the internship. They set me up with this odd thing called Gimp ( the Gnu Image Manipulation Program), which appears to be similar to PhotoShop. It is free and open source, which is a huge advantage compared to PhotoShop. The basic principle appears to be based on the concept of layers. Images are uploaded as layers and manipulated (resized, cropped, changed and moved about) and then all the layers are finally merged into one.

gimp28

 

So far, it seems to work well. It has some unique peculiarities but it has many of the same shortcuts that other graphic packages have. I am having some fun with it.

Anybody out there used it?

 

Image credit – http://gimp-win.sourceforge.net/

One comment on “Bring out the Gimp

  1. ladysighs says:

    I have enjoyed using Gimp for several years. Mostly I just follow some tutorials and have a lot of fun doing that. I don’t make many original projects. I think you would really like it.

Well? What do you think?

