Audio Storytelling

This week in DS106 I was mostly listening to audio. Radio and podcasts. Apparently, radio is very popular in Ireland, according to an ad I heard on the radio. I listened to a few radio stations. Mostly American. I love American talk radio, not the crazy stuff but the stuff that transports you with stories. I don’t listen to enough of it. The radio I usually listen to is background music, the type you can just not pay attention to. Filler. So, when I had the chance to listen to something like Guts – Radiolab, it was a real treat. This type of audio demands your attention. It had so much stuff going on in the background. Noises and effects helped to build up the atmosphere.I hope to listen to more of it. I also signed up for free accounts with SoundCloud and Freesound ( a creative commons library of sound effects) because we will soon be making our own “bumpers” for radio.
I also listened to Ira Glass, host of This American Life explain about the gist of what is necessary for audio storytelling.

This got me thinking about my old archaeology podcast from college and how this medium is perfect for subjects that mainstream media tend to ignore.

Well? What do you think?

